11th Manav Rachna U-14 Cricket Challenge Cup 2018

MRIS-46, Gurugram touched another milestone as the 11th Manav Rachna U-14 Cricket Challenge Cup 2018 took off to a flag start on 11th December 2018 in the school grounds. The Cricket Challenge Cup which was the brainchild of our visionary Founder Chairman Dr. O.P. Bhalla was launched with the aim of providing a platform for students across DELHI-NCR to hone their love for the sport. The idea was carried forward by Mr. Sarkar Talwar, Director Sports MREI, and duly supported by Mr. Sunny Bansal, Executive Director, MRIS 46 and Mrs. Dhriti Malhotra, Director Principal MRIS-46. Over the years, the event grew in size and scale, and schools started looking forward to participate and compete for the coveted Championship Trophy.

The 11th Under 14 Cricket Challenge Cup 2018 has 26 teams competing against each other from 11th -26th December 2018. Participating schools are- Shiv Nadar School, Blue Bells Public School (Sector 10), Amity International School (Sec 43), DAV Public School (Sec 14), Rose Land Public school, MRIS (Sec 14 Faridabad), Our Lady of Fatima Convent Secondary School, The Shri Ram School – Moulsari, GSSS (Civil Lines), DPS (Sec45), Red Roses Public School  (Palam Vihar), DPS World Aravali, MRIS (Sec-51 Gurugram), GSSS Kadipur, Amity International School (Sec 46), Lotus Valley International School, Blue Bells Model School (Sec 4), Narayana school south city II, Presidium School, Dev Samaj Vidya Niketan Sr. Sec. School, The Pine Crest School, CCA School Gurgaon, DPSG Palam Vihar, K.R. Mangalam World School, and G.D. Goenka Public School, Manav Rachna International School, Sector 46, Gurugram.

Mr. Sarkar Talwar, Director Sports- MREI declared the 11th Under 14 Cricket Challenge Cup 2018 open. The opening match was played between Blue Bells Model School (Sec 4) and D.P.S World Aravali. Blue Bells Model School won the toss and chose to bowl first. DPSWA, in the 20 overs match set a target of 126 runs at a loss of 7 wickets. Blue Bells Model School chased the target with ease in 06 overs and won the opening match by 10 wickets and 84 balls remaining.

The second match of the day was played between Dev Samaj Vidya Niketan Sr. Sec. School and Narayana School South City II. Dev Samaj won the toss and elected to Bat first. The batting team set a target of 150 runs at a loss of 6 wickets. Narayana School could make 111 runs for 8 in 20 overs. Dev Samaj won by 39 runs.

Aryan Bachhal from Blue Bells scored of 105 runs/1 wicket was declared the Man of the Match for the first game while Yug Mittal from Dev Samaj with a record of 40 runs/2 wickets was declared match of the match for the second game of the day.

Coming days will see two knock out matches being played on a daily basis. The final Match is scheduled for December 26.